• Book Reclassification Project
  • From the Field The ASCSA's libraries (Blegen, Gennadius and the Wiener Laboratory) are undergoing a major reclassification project for their collections following the Library of Congress system of call numbers. Live updates will be posted here as well as on the Facebook pages of the School.
  • Read More
  • Search the Library Catalog

Upcoming Events

Nights of Classical Music at the Gennadius Library, 26-29 September 2018

September 26, 2018 8:30pm

ASCSA, Cotsen Hall, 9 Anapiron Polemou, 106 76 Athens


Presented by

The Gennadius Library & The Schwarz Foundation

Curtis-on-Tour, the Nina von Maltzahn Touring Initiative of the Curtis Institute of Music, sponsored by the Schwarz Foundation

Curtis on Tour returns to Athens for the fourth year as the resident ensemble at the "Nights of Classical Music at the Gennadius Library" festival, presented by the Schwarz Foundation in collaboration with the Gennadius Library of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

Four unique programs performed by current students, alumni, and faculty of the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music offer works by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Janacek, and many more!

* All performances will be Livestreamed. Please click HERE to watch.


Wednesday 26 September, 8:30 p.m.

Music for Cello & Piano

Oliver Herbert, cello

Xiaohui Yang, piano (’13)


Sonata for Viola da Gamba and Keyboard in D major, BWV 1028                            Johann Sebastian Bach

Adagio—                                                                                                                   (1685–1750)





Fantasiestücke, Op. 73                                                                                         Robert Schumann

Zart und mit Ausdruck                                                                                              (1810–1856)

Lebhaft, leicht

Rasch und mit Feuer       


'Pohádka'                                                                                                                 Leos Janácek

Con moto                                                                                                                  (1854–1928)

Con moto



Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2                                                             Ludwig van Beethoven

Allegro con brio                                                                                                        (1770–1827)

Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto


Admission is free. Tickets will be distributed on a first come, first serve basis beginning an hour before each concert. Attendees are encouraged to arrive early as we expect high demand.(9 Anapiron Polemou Str.)

*** Please click the relevant link bellow to see the programm for each of the following three (3) perfomannces.